• India
  • Nov 20

Australia win 6th ODI World Cup title

• Australia beat India by six wickets at Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium to lift a record-extending sixth ICC ODI World Cup on November 19. 

• Chasing a tricky 241 for victory in the final, Australia slipped to 47-3 before the left-handed opener Travis Head hit his second century of the tournament to steer the team to victory.

• Head’s knock and his marathon stand of 192 with Marnus Labuschagne (58 not out) ended India’s dominant run of 10 unbeaten matches in the tournament.

• Head’s century was the seventh in a World Cup final and third by an Australian after Ricky Ponting (140 not out vs India in 2003) and Adam Gilchrist (149 vs Sri Lanka in 2007).

• The bowlers set up victory for an Australian side that bounced back after two losses to win nine in a row as Mitchell Starc (3-55) and Pat Cummins (2-34) helped bowl out India for 240.

• Virat Kohli and K.L. Rahul hit 54 and 66 respectively after Rohit Sharma’s attacking 47.

• Chasing 241 for victory, Australia reached their target in 43 overs to snap India’s 10-match winning streak at the tournament. 

• With the win, Pat Cummins joined Allan Border, Steve Waugh, Ricky  Ponting and Michael Clarke in an evergreen and legendary list of Australian World Cup captains.

• Australia have previously won ODI World Cup titles in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015.

• Australia’s Travis Head was declared Player of the Match. 

• Virat Kohli was named Player of the Tournament.

Some new records created in this World Cup:

• India’s Virat Kohli's 765 runs is the most for any batter in the history of the World Cup. 

• It was the first time that the 700-run barrier was broken by any batter in the World Cup history when Kohli went past Sachin Tendlkar’s record of 673 runs scored in the 2003 edition. 

• Virat Kohli became the first batter in the history of the game to score 50 ODI centuries, going past his idol Sachin Tendulkar during the World Cup semi-final against New Zealand at the Wankhede Stadium.

• India’s Mohammed Shami’s three five-wicket hauls are now the most for any bowler in a World Cup edition. Shami took 7/57 against New Zealand in the semifinal, 5/18 versus Sri Lanka and 5/54 against New Zealand at Dharamsala in the league stage game. 

• Australia’s win over the Netherlands by 309 runs reset the record of biggest win by margin of runs for any team in World Cup history. 

• India’s Rohit Sharma surpassed Chris Gayle (49) to have hit most sixes in all World Cup editions. Rohit finished with an overall 54 sixes, of which 31 came in the 2023 edition itself.

• Mohammed Shami’s 7/57 against New Zealand in the semi-final is the joint-best show by any bowler in terms of wickets taken in an innings of a World Cup match. It was also the best performance for any bowler in this World Cup.

• Pakistan recorded the highest successful chase (345) for any team in World Cup history, during their league stage contest against Sri Lanka in Hyderabad.

• The Netherlands’ Bas de Leede gave away 2/115 against Australia in New Delhi in the league stage, which is the costliest spell for any bowler not just in World Cup but also ODI history. 

• South Africa’s Aiden Markram hit the fastest World Cup century in 49 balls against Sri Lanka in New Delhi, but his record was broken by Australia’s Glenn Maxwell, who struck a ton in only 40 balls against the Netherlands at the same venue.

Manorama Yearbook app is now available on Google Play Store and iOS App Store