• India
  • Jun 20
  • Kevin Savio Antony

What is Krishi Sakhi programme?

• Prime Minister Narendra Modi granted certificates to over 30,000 self-help groups designated as Krishi Sakhis in Varanasi.

• This initiative recognises and aims to amplify the crucial role of women in agriculture. 

• It follows a Memorandum of Understanding signed between the Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers’ Welfare and the Ministry of Rural Development. 

Krishi Sakhi Convergence Programme

• The Krishi Sakhi Convergence Programme is the flagship initiative under this MoU, aimed at enhancing the skills and empowerment of rural women engaged in agriculture across India.

• Under the ‘Lakhpati Didi’ programme, the aim is to create 3 crore Lakhpati Didis, one dimension of which is Krishi Sakhi. 

• Krishi Sakhi Convergence Programme aims to transform rural India through the empowerment of rural women as Krishi Sakhi, by imparting training and certification of Krishi Sakhis as Para-extension Workers. 

• This certification course aligns with the objectives of the ‘Lakhpati Didi’ programme.

• Krishi Sakhis are chosen as agriculture para-extension workers because they are trusted community resource persons and experienced farmers themselves. 

• Their deep roots in farming communities ensure they are welcomed and respected.

What kind of training is being provided to Krishi Sakhis?

Krishi Sakhis have already been trained on various extension service for 56 days on the following modules:

i) Agro ecological practices from land preparation to harvest

ii) Organising farmer field schools

iii) Seed banks — establishment and management

iv) Soil health, soil and moisture conservation practices

v) Integrated farming systems

vi) Basics of livestock management

vii) Preparation and use of bio inputs and establishment of bio inputs shops

viii) Basic communication skills

• Following the training, Krishi Sakhis will take a proficiency test. Those who qualify will be certified as Para-extension Workers.

• As on June 18, as many as 34,000 Krishi Sakhis have been certified as Para-extension Workers.

• Krishi Sakhi training programme has been rolled out in 12 states in phase 1. These states are: Gujarat, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Odisha, Jharkhand, Andhra Pradesh and Meghalaya.

(The author is a trainer for Civil Services aspirants.)